Frosted Mini Wheats

I was visiting a friend’s house up in Minnesota (where I went to school!) and I was trying to find something low-sodium to eat (you know, to counteract all the delicious restaurant food we were eating.) I was pleasantly suprised to see that Frosted Mini Wheats contains a mere 5mg of sodium per serving!(OK, I’ll admit it, their website is kind of cute)

yum yum!

I love it when I find “regular” foods that are ALREADY low in sodium!  It inspired me to look at some other cereals and their sodium contents:

Frosted Mini Wheats: 5 mg per 59 g
Kashi Autumn Wheat Biscuits: 0 mg per 54 g
Cheerios: 190 mg per 28 g
Cracklin Oat Bran: 150 mg per 49 g
Kix: 210 mg per 30 g
Cocoa Puffs: 150 mg per 27 g
Rice Krispies: 220 mg per 33 g

Kind of a random selection, I know… I just wanted to illustrate the vast range of sodium within the breakfast cereal category. Obviously I went out and stocked up on Kashi Autumn Wheat and Frosted Mini Wheats! What’s your favorite cereal? Check its sodium content and leave it in the comments!

2 responses to “Frosted Mini Wheats

  1. My Kashi Go Lean Honey Almond Flax has 140 mg of sodium per 53 g cereal. Not too bad. It’s one of the only cereals that keeps me full bc it’s got twice the protein and fiber of regular cereals.

  2. i love frosted mini-wheats! addicted to it right now!

Leave a Reply

