Orange Banana Muffins

One of the first recipes I made from the No-Salt Lowest-Sodium Cookbook was these Orange Banana Muffins. I was intrigued by the fact that I had to go out and buy a different kind of baking powder, called Featherweight. This stuff has zero sodium, while regular baking powder has close to 500mg per teaspoon!

Typical muffin recipes often combine 1 tsp of baking powder  for 500mg sodium with 1 tsp baking soda (SODIUM bicarbonate) at a whopping 1260mg sodium per teaspoon! If that ‘typical’ recipe makes 12 muffins, you’re only getting about 150mg sodium per muffin, but first of all, if I bake muffins on a Sunday, I’m gonna eat more than one. Second of all, I’m exploring the world of low-sodium, so why not go all the way?

Sideways Orange Banana Muffins

These Orange Banana muffins have less than 1mg sodium per muffin. The texture was definitely more dense, and the muffin tops were not so pretty and rounded, but the flavor was not bad at all. I really enjoyed throwing a whole orange, peel and all, into my food processor, and the flavor delivered by all that zest and peel was phenomenal!

Would I make these again? Probably not. But still fun to try!!

One response to “Orange Banana Muffins

  1. Thanks for sharing some of these with us. I found that slicing them horizontally into 3 puck shaped slices and warming them in a fry pan made them warm and delicious for breakfast. And the orange zest was just right, too.

Leave a Reply

