So like, what’s wrong with you, anyway?

Why’s my doctor telling me to lower my sodium? Not because of high blood pressure or heart disease, which seem to be the two most common reasons for doctors to crack down. My affliction is far less common, and it’s called Meniere’s Disease. It affects the inner ear and causes some hearing loss, and eventually dizzy spells that can be completely unbearable. My doc recommended reading up on it here, if you care to learn more!

They don’t know everything about Meniere’s, and the best treatment that seems to work for most people is a combination of taking a diuretic pill every day (lame!) and reducing sodium intake (also lame!) So basically my motivation to stick with this is directly proportional to my motivation to not have hearing distortion and dizzy spells that make me want to vomit. Fun stuff, huh?

I first noticed something was up when I was holding a phone to my left ear and the person sounded like kermit the frog. Through my right ear, they sounded normal! I asked my dad what he thought I should do (he has Meniere’s Disease too, though they don’t think it’s always hereditary or anything) and he said I should take it seriously and get it checked out. A couple weeks later, I was listening to the Doc telling me to restrict my sodium to under 2,000 mg per day.

Over the last few weeks I’ve been feeling mostly positive about this whole “you’re diseased” thing. After all, taking one pill a day every day isn’t THAT bad (but boy will I miss scribbling a jaunty “N/A” on doctor office forms asking about my medications!) And let’s be honest here, it’s probably much better for my overall health to learn how to eat without salting myself to bad health!

I promise I’ll get around to the food soon. And pictures. Come on, what’s a blog without pictures!?

3 responses to “So like, what’s wrong with you, anyway?

  1. i’m excited for your blog!

    • Thanks! I’ve been afraid to share the link with anyone so far, but I figured I should take the plunge and just share it!! Any advice for designing? I don’t like the way it looks so far… I’ve got a steep learning curve ahead of me!

  2. No need to be nervous – just keep writing in your natural voice, and you will work the kinks out as you go 🙂 I think it’s great that you are taking on the void in the lower-sodium blogs – I know you’ll do great!

Leave a Reply

